#### Feb – August 2024

SDC Member Maria Rudolph invites all SDC Members to continue to pray using the prayer points that are being used each week during the Online Prayer sessions:

- Pray for the Synod delegates and all laypeople and pastors of the LCANZ as we all familiarise ourselves with the Way Forward Framework and as feedback is put together, that it would be a godly time of working toward the unity of our church.
- Pray that each member of our church can work toward making our church a safe, welcoming, equal and Jesus-centred space for all people.
- Please also pray earnestly for each of the members and chairpeople of the eight working groups of the Way Forward project by name see below for the list of names.
- Pray for the project management team and the members of CoB and GCB by name also see below for the list of names.
- Let us uplift each and every one of these people in prayer.
- Let us pray for abundant blessing on each of these people, for protection of their health and that in every way they are sustained and strengthened by the Lord.
- Let us pray that in the discussions and work of each working group, common ground can be found in Christ and for there to be a total focus on Jesus.
- Pray for the fruit of the Spirit love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control to be evident in and through each one of these people and that they can see in each other foremost a fellow sister or brother loved by God and made in God's image.
- Pray for an outpouring of the Holy Spirit and to give inspiration and insight to each one of these people.
- Pray that the doors can be opened so our church can find a unified way in which to embrace and support the calling and gifting of all our women and men, in the ordained and all other ministry spaces in our church.

# Project Team: Stella Thredgold, Tim Niewand, Tony Vong

Reference Group: David Altus (Chair), Timothy Pietsch, Shiron Dixon

# Working Group 1 – Synod Agenda and Outcomes Planning

Chair: Bishop Andrew Brook Members: Chris Antonini, Brett Hausler, Dr Nigel Long, Eloise Quinn-Valentine, Neil Bergmann

# Working Group 2 – Theological Requirements

Chair: Bishop Paul Smith Members: Rev Dr Stephen Haar, Rev Fraser Pearce, Maria Rudolph, Rev Tommi Vuorinen, Rev Dale Gosden

# Working Group 3 – Constitutional Requirements

Chair: Dr Nigel Long Members: Bruce Arnold, Kim Baumeler, David Dreckow, Bruce Lockwood Consultant: Rev Ben Hentschke

### Working Group 4 – Governance Requirements

Chair: Michael Stolz Members: Nancy Fox, Rev Paul Traeger, Rev Dr Mark Vainikka, Dr Cathryn Hamilton

### Working Group 5 – Pastoral Care

Chair: Gary Jewson Members: Joanne Chamberlain, Sue Westhorp, Kathy Matuschka, Rev Tim Klein, Karen Tromans

### Working Group 6 – Candidacy

Chair: ALC Principal (Tim Stringer) Members: Rev Ian Rentsch, Assoc Prof Lisa Schmidt, Kate Traeger, Assoc Prof Tanya Wittwer

# Working Group 7 – Communications

Chair: Trevor Ruthenberg Members: Annissa Hansen, Linda Macqueen, Kate Burke

#### Working Group 8 – Finance and Budgeting

Chair: Mel Zerner Members: Ben Gargett, Brett Hausler, Leanne Latz

**CoB:** Paul Smith, Neville Otto, Andrew Brook, Lester Priebbenow, Mark Vainikka, Peter Hage, Richard Schwedes

**GCB:** Kim Baumeler, Paul Argyle, Charmaine Harch, Tim Wiebusch, Mel Zerner, Peter Zweck, Rev Ben Hentschke